#2 Operation Catch Up

I’m so behind on all my projects. Since the recent nuptials, I haven’t wanted to do ANYTHING wedding planning related. I must start somewhere. Here’s my start…my to do list:

  • send wedding pictures out via email to family and friendspicture-1
  • pick songs for our wedding video….ideas welcome =)
  • start designing our “thank you” cards
  • practice the art of gocco for my thank you cards (process posted later)gocco1
  • print out photobooth pictures
  • think of the other things to do…ay!

and for today’s recipe…….my Peruvian fave…Lomo Saltado!

recipe verdict: Thumbs up! Totally delish and easy to do.

I’m happy to report that all the veggies (sans fries) were bought locally from our farmer’s market. I’ve found that the veggies are usually cheaper there than the supermarket and it feels good to support the local agriculturalists and our quaint city’s farmer’s market. My SIL (sis-in-law) has made this before and it was yummy. The soy sauce, cumin, vinegar mixtures makes the fries soooo…good. So glad I tried it…definitely a keeper.

img_0020img_0021

PERUVIAN LOMO SALTADO via chowhound and here

2 garlic cloves minced
1 red onion cut into small wedges (separate from each layer)
2 tomatoes cut into wedges
2 tablespoons of chopped cilantro
1/2 cup of diced green onions (i omitted)
1 red bell pepper, seeded and sliced into thin strips
1 cup of frozen french fries (i used crinkle fries)
1 tsp cumin
pinch paprika (can omit, I used)
1 tblsp soy sauce
black pepper
1 tblsp white wine vinegar (I used filipino white vinegar & rice vinegar)
cooking oil
a few ounces of steak, cut into strips (I used ready cut beef top sirloin..on sale right now at Ralph’s =)

In a bowl or ziplock bag or tupperware, place meats and pour a few tablespoons of soy sauce, a few healthy dashes of cumin, and paprika to marinade. Leave for 15 minutes or more (I marinated it overnight). In the meantime, bake or fry the french fries per the instructions on the bag. Cook the fries until crispy golden brown. Drain and reserve french fries.

Heat a wok/pan until rocket hot. Apply a very thin layer of oil and swirl to coat. Add the meat to the pan and saute. Do not overcrowd the wok, or you will get a mushy soup instead of a stir fry. Again work in very small batches, the idea is to have very little liquid in the wok so that you get a nice caramelization on the meats. I didn’t really follow this. I find it best to just leave the meats to cook without disturbing it for a minute or so per side, to get a light crust to form. Stir fry a few more seconds until aromatic. Remove meat from wok, reserve in bowl.

Add about a tablespoon of oil to wok. Add minced garlic, onions and bell peppers and stir fry until garlic is just shy of golden brown. . Stir fry a few seconds, but do not allow to wilt. Add a few splashes of soy sauce, and white wine vinegar (not so much that it pools on the bottom). Sprinkle a few liberal pinches of cumin to the onions and stir. Sprinkle a few liberal pinches of paprika and stir. You really just want to warm the tomatoes up. Do not to get them too mushy. Now return the cooked meats into the wok and toss to combine. Add the chopped cilantro and then the fries. Then add the tomatoes and green onions.

One thought on “#2 Operation Catch Up

  1. Hey girl! Love the gocco machine! Where did you get yours? I’ve been wanting one for 2 years now. I found one on a website a few months ago but now they don’t sell the machine any more. 😦

Leave a Reply

